Grant ID RR200070
Awarded On May 20, 2020
Title Recruitment of First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Members
Program CPRIT Scholar
Award Mechanism Recruitment of First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty Members
Institution/Organization The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Principal Investigator/Program Director Matthew Parker
Cancer Sites All Sites
Contracted Amount $2,000,000
Summary of Goals and Objectives

Eukaryotic DNA replication is necessary for cell division. To initiate replication, three proteins, ORC, Cdc6 and Cdt1, co-assemble into a condensed liquid phase on chromosome surfaces to load the replicative helicase onto DNA. CDK•Cyc-dependent initiator phosphorylation regulates this process to ensure that it occurs once and only once per division cycle; mis-regulation leads to genomic instability, a hallmark of many cancers. Although aberrant CDK•Cyc activity is common in cancer, and regulation of replication initiation is necessary for genomic health, how these pathways conspire to drive genomic instability in cancer remain...

Read More