Grant ID RP200150
Awarded On February 19, 2020
Title Molecular Features Impacting Drug Resistance in Acquired Atypical EGFR Exon 18 and Exon 20 Mutant Non-small Cell Lung Cancers and the Development of Novel Mutant-selective Inhibitors
Program Academic Research
Award Mechanism Individual Investigator
Institution/Organization The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Principal Investigator/Program Director John V Heymach
Cancer Sites Lung and Bronchus
Contracted Amount $756,148
Lay Summary

Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) is the leading cause of cancer mortality. Until recently, the primary treatment for advanced NSCLC has been chemotherapy, which typically causes significant tumor shrinkage in ~20% of patients, with significant toxicities. In recent years, however, the treatment of NSCLC has been revolutionized by two major changes: the development of targeted agents, such as tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs) targeting mutant forms of epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR); and immunotherapy. While these TKIs have been shown to dramatically prolong the lives of patients bearing “typical” EGFR mutations, approximately 20% of patients with EGFR mutations have “atypical” muta...

Read More