Cancer Prevention & Research Institute of Texas Awards $12 Million in New Recruitment Grants

(AUSTIN) — The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) today awarded two new academic research grants totaling $12 million to recruit eminent cancer researchers to Texas.

“CPRIT’s unmatched recruiting program continues to serve as a vital resource for establishing a critical mass of research talent at NCI Designated Cancer Centers in Texas, such as Baylor College of Medicine and The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio,” said Wayne Roberts, CPRIT’s Chief Executive Officer. “Every newly recruited CPRIT Scholar increases the visibility of the state in the medical and scientific communities worldwide, sending the message that Texas is the place to be for cancer research.”

CPRIT’s Oversight Committee unanimously approved a Recruitment of Established Investigators Award to support Baylor College of Medicine’s efforts to bring internationally recognized physician scientist Othon Iliopoulos, M.D., to Texas. His research focuses on understanding the biochemical mechanisms of cancer angiogenesis and cancer metabolism to identify new targets for treatment of renal cell carcinoma. Baylor College of Medicine is recruiting Dr. Iliopoulos from Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School to serve as the endowed Duncan Professor of Medicine and Associate Director for Translational Research at the Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center.

The Oversight Committee also unanimously approved a Recruitment of Established Investigators Award to The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio for the recruitment of Alexander Mazin, Ph.D.  Dr. Mazin is a highly accomplished biochemist and cancer biologist from Drexel University College of Medicine. His leadership in mechanistic DNA repair studies and expertise in DNA repair inhibitors development will enhance the cancer-focused biology and drug discovery programs at UT Health San Antonio and the Mays Cancer Center.

CPRIT’s recruitment awards attract exceptional cancer research talent to Texas to work with preeminent scientists at the state’s research institutions, creating the finest cluster of cancer researchers in the world and contributing to Texas’ emerging bioscience ecosystem. The two potential recruits approved today will join 228 CPRIT Scholars already working at 21 institutions across Texas. 

CPRIT awards three types of recruitment grants: Established Investigators for senior research faculty with distinguished professional careers and established cancer research programs; Rising Stars for early-stage investigators who have demonstrated promising continued and enhanced contributions to the field; and First-Time, Tenure-Track Faculty awards for emerging investigators pursuing their first faculty appointment, and who are expected to make outstanding contributions in cancer research. Recruits receive the prestigious “CPRIT Scholar” designation.

To learn more about CPRIT Scholars and the vital contribution they make to cancer research, please visit

 About the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas

CPRIT has awarded $2.7 billion in grants to Texas research institutions and organizations through its academic research, prevention, and product development research programs. CPRIT has recruited 228 distinguished researchers, supported the establishment, expansion or relocation of 42 companies to Texas, and generated more than $5 billion in additional public and private investment. CPRIT funding has advanced scientific and clinical knowledge and provided 7 million life-saving cancer prevention and early detection services reaching Texans from all 254 counties. On November 5, 2019, Texas voters overwhelmingly approved a constitutional amendment providing an additional $3 billion to CPRIT, for a total $6 billion investment in cancer research and prevention efforts across Texas, the largest state funded research program in United States history and the second largest source of funding for cancer research in the world.

Learn more at Follow CPRIT on TwitterFacebook, and LinkedIn.


Recruitment of Established Investigators Awards* - Two grants totaling $12,000,000

  • Othon Iliopoulos, M.D., Recruitment to Baylor College of Medicine from Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School - $6,000,000
  • Alexander Mazin, Ph.D., Recruitment to The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio from Drexel University College of Medicine - $6,000,000

* Awarded recruitment grants indicate only approval to negotiate offers; at the time of release candidates have not accepted offers.